top of page

Eyecelerator @ ASCRS 2023

Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 

Thursday, May 4


*Panels are in development and speakers are subject to change.

Registration + Networking Breakfast

7:30 – 8:30 a.m.

Registration –  Marriott Grand Ballroom Foyer  

Networking Breakfast – San Diego Ballroom

General Session - Marriott Grand Ballroom 5-9

Welcome Remarks

8:30 – 8:40 a.m.

  • Gil Kliman, MD, Program Director

  • John Berdahl, MD, Program Co-Chair

  • Julie Schallhorn, MD, Program Co-Chair

State of the Union: Ophthalmology Marketplace Update 

8:40 – 8:50 a.m.

Kristen Harmon Ingenito, Market Scope

Start the day with a data-driven and sometimes surprising look at the business of ophthalmology.

S1: We Love Ophthalmology, Does Anyone Else?

8:50 – 9:35 a.m.

Get a clear-eyed perspective on the opportunities and challenges of financing innovation from a panel of business and investment leaders who are driving the future of ophthalmology.

Moderators: Steve Speares and Gil Kliman, MD


  • Neha Begwani, Morgan Stanley 

  • Tak Cheung, MD, NEA 

  • Daniel Estes, PhD, Frazier Life Sciences 

  • Peter Menziuso, Johnson & Johnson Vision 

  • Jeff Weinhuff, Visionary Ventures 

  • Cynthia Yee, Vensana Capital 

S2: Craft a Winning a Reimbursement Strategy 

9:35 – 10:00 a.m.

A panel of experts focus on early-stage companies that are not targeting a premium market.


Moderator: Nathan Radcliffe, MD 


  • Ron Gilliland, VEO Ophthalmics

  • Emily Graham, Hart Health Strategies Inc. 

  • Eric Grieg, Lantham & Watkins

  • Ed Holland, MD, Cincinnati Eye Institute

  • Cindy Metrose, Carl Zeiss Meditec USA, Inc.

Networking Break 

10:00 – 10:30 a.m.

Networking Break –  Marriott Grand Ballroom Foyer

S3: Wheels Up: New Devices Attempting 2023 Takeoff

10:30 – 11:15 a.m.

Where is the next blockbuster device innovation? Commercialization teams from companies ramping US revenues in 2023 share their market development approaches and take challenging questions from strategics. 

Moderators: Nicole Fram, MD and Leon Herndon, MD 

US commercial takeoffs:

  • EVO ICL: STAAR Surgical
    Warren Foust, Chief Operating Officer; Jim Francese, Senior VP Commercial; David Chormanski, VP Marketing

  • IC8 IOL: Bausch + Lomb
    Anthony Wallace, Vice President and General Manager; Chuck Hess, VP Commercial Development & Digital Health 

  • Ally femtosecond laser: LENSAR
    Nick Curtis, President and CEO;  Alan Connaughton, COO; Lauren Gyoerkoe, VP Marketing

  • iDose sustained glaucoma drug delivery: Glaukos
    Tomas Navratil, PhD, Chief Development Officer; David Haffner, Senior VP New Technologies
    ; Cody McKenzie, Global Franchise Head

S4: The Winning Pitch Challenge 

11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 

Back by popular demand! The Shark Tank-style competition features pitches from three early-stage ophthalmology innovators, with judges and the audience deciding who will take home cash prizes.

Moderators: Vance Thompson, MD and John Berdahl, MD


Panel of Judges: 

  • Juliet Bakker, Longitude Capital

  • Jeannette Bankes, Alcon

  • Richard Lindstrom, MD, Minnesota Eye Consultants

  • James V. Mazzo, Neurotech Pharmaceuticals, Inc.


  • Patricia Buehler, MD, Osheru

  • Patrick Gooi, MD, iWick

  • Barry Linder, MD, Eyedetec

Networking Lunch

12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Networking Lunch – San Diego Ballroom

Breakout and Break it Down: Marketplace Company Showcases

1:00 – 2:30 p.m. 

This popular session is an opportunity for companies to present their most recent advances and demonstrate opportunities for growth. "Best in Show" recognition will be determined by a select group of judges and through audience polling.


Group 1 -  Marriott Grand Ballroom 1-2


  • Ike Ahmed, MD, Prism Eye Institute

  • Erin Powers, BVI Medical

Company Presentations:

  • AEYE Health

  • Aurion Biotech

  • BioTissue

  • Blink Energy

  • CXL Ophthalmics, Inc

  • EyeYon Medical

  • Glint Pharmaceuticals

  • Kiora Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

  • NeuroTrigger Ltd.

  • Toku Inc

Group 2 - Marriott Grand Ballroom 3-4


  • Eric Donnenfeld, MD, Ophthalmic Consultants of Long Island

  • Preeya Gupta, MD, Triangle Eye Consultants

Company Presentations:

  • CorNeat Vision

  • Elios

  • EyeSonix

  • Glaukos

  • LENZ Therapeutics

  • Ocuphire Pharma

  • Orasis Pharmaceuticals

  • Sanoculis Ltd.

  • ViaLase, Inc.

  • Visus Therapeutics, Inc.

Networking Break

2:30 – 3:00 p.m. 

Networking Break – Marriott Grand Ballroom Foyer

S5: Eyecelerator Company Case Study: Glaukos, Profiles in Courage

3:00 – 3:45 p.m.

This new series features in-depth case studies of companies that survived great challenges to triumph with commercial success. For this session, industry vet Mazzo and an executive panel track Glaukos from startup to ophthalmic heavyweight.

Moderator: James V. Mazzo


  • Tom Burns, Glaukos

  • Chris Calcaterra, Glaukos

  • Joe Gilliam, Glaukos

  • Gil Kliman, MD, InterWest Partners

  • William J. Link, Ph.D, Versant Ventures

  • Thomas Samuelson, MD, Minnesota Eye Consultants

  • Reza Zadno, PhD, Avedro/Glaukos

S6: If Not First, You’re Last: First-in-Human Studies

3:45 – 4:15 p.m.

It's mission-critical for clinical innovators to understand best practices and strategies surrounding initial human trials. This panel includes experts from the FDA, academia, biotech, and ophthalmic research. 

Moderator: Elizabeth Yeu, MD 


  • David Bingaman, PhD, ORA

  • Doug Kelly, MD, Food and Drug Administration

  • Greg Kunst, Aurion Biotech

  • Ayman Naseri, MD, UCSF Department of Ophthalmology

  • Kevin Waltz, MD, Ophthalmic Research Consultants

The Closing Bell

4:15 – 4:30 p.m. 

Review of Healio/Eyecelerator Clinician Survey Data and Presentations of People's Choice Awards and Honorable Mentions for Best of Show Presenting Companies


  • Gil Kliman, MD, Program Director

  • John Berdahl, MD, Program Co-Chair

  • Julie Schallhorn, MD, Program Co-Chair

Networking Reception

4:30 – 5:30 p.m. 

Networking Reception –  Marriott Grand Ballroom Foyer

bottom of page